Chili 4 Ways

20131104-194119.jpg

On Saturday morning I made a huge pot of chili in my crock pot to eat this week while my husband is out of town for work (oilfield men :/) but after eating for 2 meals a day, 3 days straight I was kinda over it.

I saw this AMAZING picture on Pinterest of a smothered burrito and that is what I just had to have for lunch. Well I didn’t have any ground beef or beans and I didn’t want to go to the store for just two things because that sucks. So I got creative and used chili for the burrito filling!!! Is that brilliant or what?!

My chili recipe is pretty easy and basic so it’s very versatile and can be used for several other meals throughout the week! Ready for the 4 ways to use that delicious chili up?

1. Chili (obviously!)
2. Frito pie
3. Smothered burritos
4. Chili cheese dog
I’m actually debating whether my chili would be good as a sloppy joe?? I haven’t decided yet. Maybe one day I’ll remember to buy hamburger buns.

CHILI INGREDIENTS
1 can of red beans
1 can of pinto beans
1 can black beans
1 can chili beans or an additional can of pinto beans
1lb ground turkey
1 can chili tomatoes
Fajita Seasoning
Chili powder

DIRECTIONS
*Brown ground turkey and season with fajita seasoning and chili powder.

*Dump ground turkey and beans (do NOT drain) into crock pot. Season with fajita seasoning, chili powder and cumin to taste. Stir to combine.

*Cook on low for 4-6 hours or on high for 2-4 hours.

Now on to the smothered burritos!
INGREDIENTS
Water
1 beef bouillon cube
Flour (whole wheat works well too!)
Chili powder
Chili
Tortillas
Cheese (optional)

DIRECTIONS

*In a small sauce pan heat 1 cup of water and 1 beef bouillon cube until completely dissolved.

*In a measuring cup mix 1/4 cup flour and 1/4 cup water until it becomes the consistency of Elmer’s glue. If mixture isn’t right consistency add more flour or water as needed. Sprinkle mixture with chili powder and stir.

*Pour flour mixture into beef broth and whisk together. Cook over medium heat until mixture thickens. Add chili powder as needed.

*Spoon chili mixture onto tortillas, sprinkle cheese then roll up burrito style. Top with enchilada sauce and sprinkle more cheese on top. Cuz you can never have enough cheese!!

Leave a Reply

