Clean “Hamburger” Steaks with Mushroom Gravy

 

 

 

 

 

Image

I’ve kinda been in a slump lately. I have not felt like cooking or cleaning the past few days so we’ve been eating leftovers or cereal or whatever I can heat up in the microwave :/ I do really well cooking full blown dinners every night and then one night I just can’t do it. So this is the first REAL dinner I’ve made in a whole week. Feel honored ya’ll! I know my family did tonight LOL. 

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • 3/4 cup onions
  • 1 lb extra lean ground beef (or turkey)
  • 1 lb extra lean ground turkey
  • 1/2 cup dry bread crumbs. I used whole wheat
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 cups beef broth
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp black pepper
  • 8 oz sliced mushrooms
  • 2 tbsp all purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp tomato paste 

DIRECTIONS

  • Saute onions in oil over medium heat until golden brown, about 5 minutes.
  • In a large bowl, combine half of the onions, ground beef, ground turkey, bread crumbs, egg and egg white, 1/4 cup beef broth, salt and pepper.
  • Shape into 8 oval patties.
  • In a large deep skillet over medium heat brown both sides of patties. Set aside on plate.
  • Add mushrooms to skillet, season with salt and pepper and saute 2-3 minutes. Return patties to the skillet.
  • In a small bowl, blend flour and remaining broth until smooth. Mix in remaining onions and tomato paste.
  • Pour over meat and mushrooms in skillet.
  • Cover and cook on low heat for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.

*This recipe is not mine but I’m not sure where I got it from! I searched Pinterest, my boards and recipe book aaaaand nothing :/ 

Leave a Reply

