No Noodle Lasagna

20130917-193808.jpg

My life is a constant battle between my love of carbs and having a normal sized stomach. My stomach is super sensitive to most things so anytime I can substitute noodles or pasta for something healthier, I get super excited! This lasagna recipe uses grilled zucchini and eggplant in place of lasagna noodles and honestly I don’t even notice them missing!
This is also a pretty versatile recipe. Skip the ground turkey to make it vegetarian and/or use tofu mixed with Italian seasoning in place of cottage cheese and mozzarella to make it vegan! Ta-da!! The perfect lasagna recipe for everyone ๐Ÿ™‚

INGREDIENTS
1lb ground turkey
1 45oz jar of spaghetti sauce
15 oz cottage cheese
1 large egg
1 12oz bag grilled zucchini
1 12oz bag grilled eggplant
Garlic powder
Fajita seasoning or salt and pepper
Italian seasoning
Mozzarella cheese

DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 350 degrees

In a large skillet, brown ground turkey and season with garlic powder and fajita seasoning to taste. Add spaghetti sauce to pan and combine.

While meat is cooking, mix together cottage cheese and egg in a medium bowl. Sprinkle with fajita seasoning.

In a baking dish, spoon a small amount of sauce into the bottom of the pan. Layer zucchini, cottage cheese mixture, and sauce. Repeat the next layer with eggplant. Keep repeating layers until all ingredients are used up ending with sauce on top. I usually get 2 layers! Sprinkle top layer of lasagna with mozzarella, garlic powder and Italian seasoning.

Cover pan with foil and bake for 45 minutes then uncover and bake for another 15 minutes. Let sit 10 minutes before serving. Enjoy!

I used frozen zucchini and eggplant that has already been grilled (to take the water out of it) out of convenience.

If you choose to use fresh, slice vegetables into long strips with a mandolin, layer strips onto paper towels and sprinkle with salt. After 10 minutes, blot water from zucchini and eggplant, flip over and salt the other side. Blot with paper towels then grill slices to take extra water out.

That’s a lot of extra work huh? The first time I made this I used fresh zucchini and this step alone took me about an hour. EXHAUSTION. Needless to say I didn’t make this again until I found already grilled zucchini and eggplant in my freezer section at HEB. But don’t let the extra work scare you away! Try this recipe and I promise you won’t be let down! And leftovers the next day are awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

