Roasted Root Vegetable Soup

20130912-201338.jpg

I’ve really been in the mood for fall/winter lately so I was feeling like something cozy for dinner tonight even though it was 90+ degrees outside 🙂 My mom actually made this soup for me when I went down to visit a while back…I’m not sure of her exact recipe but I knew the basic idea behind the soup and did my best to recreate it! My friend Jenn raved about this recipe so I hope y’all enjoy it too!

INGREDIENTS
For The Soup
4 large potatoes, peeled (sweet potatoes may be substituted)
4 large carrots, peeled
1 butternut squash
Chicken or vegetable stock
Minced or chopped garlic
Olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

For The Bread
French bread, sliced
Pesto

DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 400 degrees

Chop potatoes and carrots into chunks and put on a foil lined baking sheet.

For the butternut squash I chopped it into several pieces, deseeded it and then peeled it but it’d be much easier to cut in half length wise, scoop seeds out then just roast the whole thing on the baking sheet with the other veggies. I didn’t think of it until too late :/

Drizzle olive oil over chopped vegetables and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Roast vegetables for 1 hour or until soft. Keep oven on to toast your French bread!

In a large pot over medium heat, drizzle olive oil in the bottom and add garlic. Sauté until beginning to brown.

Remove vegetables from the oven and put in the pot with the garlic. With an immersion blender, slowly add in stock and blend together until reaching your desired consistency. I like mine a little thicker so I ended up using 1 26 oz can of chicken stock (all I had on hand) and 1 can of water.

After soup has reached desired consistency, add salt and pepper as needed then turn heat under pot to low.

Spread pesto over French bread slices and put into oven until edges begin to turn golden brown. At this point I turned my broiler on to speed up the process. After 2-4 minutes bread should be toasted and ready to eat!

Spoon soup into bowls, top with French bread and enjoy!

Other Options
*add onions to sauté with the garlic for added flavor.
*parsnips, sweet potatoes, acorn squash also wild work well in this soup!

Leave a Reply

