Paleo Blueberry Muffins

Image

When I first decided to go Paleo it was out of despair. I was sick all the time and had no idea what was wrong with me. I was throwing up all the time, bloated to the point of looking 6 months prego (!!!), and going from constipated to having diarrhea was totally normal for me. I was so tired of being sick all the time that I would actually go without eating just so I wouldn’t be throwing up and bloated later. It took me several years to realize that grains and gluten were my worst enemy and to actually accept that. What was I supposed to eat if I didn’t eat bread? Or cereal? I couldn’t have pancakes, waffles, hamburger buns, pasta…the list literally goes on forever. I toughed it out there for a while and didn’t eat ANYTHING other than meats and vegetables. And that was pretty boring. Just being honest! I cannot and will not live my life like that! That’s when I discovered coconut and almond flour and a lot of other Paleo “cheats” that help make my life less boring 🙂 Hence, these lovely blueberry muffins!! The first time I made them I didn’t add any honey or other sweeteners and while they weren’t bad, they weren’t that awesome either :/ Several people actually told me they were weird tasting lol So it’s totally up to you whether you want to add anything additional!

INGREDIENTS: 

  • 6 eggs
  • 6 Tbs butter or olive oil (this is what I use!)
  • 6 Tbs applesauce or 1 banana
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • honey

DIRECTIONS: 

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  • Blend together all ingredients except the blueberries until mixture is smooth.
  • Fold in blueberries and pour batter into prepared muffin pan.
  • Bake for 17 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.
Leave a Reply

